South assembly constituency has Dr. Neelkanth Tiwari of the Bharatiya Janata
Party (BJP) taking on Mudita Kapoor of the Indian National Congress (INC), Dinesh
Kasaudhan of the Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP), Kameshwar alias Kishan Dixit of
Samajwadi Party (SP) and Ajeet Singh of the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) this year in
the Uttar Pradesh assembly elections.

Neelkanth Tiwari of the BJP had won the Varanasi South seat in 2017 when the
BJP swept Uttar Pradesh winning 312 of UP’s 403 assembly seats. Tiwari had
beaten his closest rival Rajesh Kumar Mishra of Congress by over 17,226 votes. Shyamdev
Roy Chaudhari of BJP won from the seat in 2012.

South falls under the Varanasi district and the Varanasi Lok Sabha
constituency, which is made up of five assembly seats.

Also Read: Varanasi North (UP) assembly election 2022: Date, result, candidates list and latest news

Minister Narendra Modi represented Varanasi as a member of Parliament in the
2019 Lok Sabha elections. Modi defeated Shalini Yadav from the SP with a margin
of 479,505 votes.

Varanasi South constituency voted in the seventh phase and the last round of the Uttar
Pradesh elections
on March 7, 2022, along with 53 other constituencies in 9

Also Read: Uttar Pradesh elections 2022: Full list of voting dates for all constituencies

will be declared on March 10, along with those for elections in four other
states, including neighbouring Uttarakhand.

Also Read: Exit poll 2022: When and where to watch post-poll survey for 5 states

facts about the Varanasi North Assembly seat-

of the assembly constituency, district: Varanasi South, Varanasi

date: March 7, 2022

Phase: 7      

MLA, party: Dr. Neelkanth Tiwari, BJP                   

candidates, party in 2022: Dr. Neelkanth Tiwari (BJP), Mudita Kapoor (INC), Dinesh
Kasaudhan (BSP), Kameshwar (SP) and Ajeet Singh (AAP)

candidate, party in 2017: Dr. Neelkanth Tiwari, BJP

Runner-up name, party 2017: Rajesh Kumar Mishra (INC)

Winning margin in 2017: 17,226                          

3 candidates 2017:  Dr. Neelkanth Tiwari (BJP),
Mudita Kapoor (INC), Dinesh Kasaudhan (BSP)

3 candidates 2012: Shyamdev Roy Chaudhari (BJP), Dr. Dayashankar Mishra (INC), Atahar
Jamal Lari (QED)

Sabha constituency: Varanasi