David Warner recorded his first golden duck in eight IPL seasons when Punjab Kings’ Liam Livingstone dismissed him on the first delivery of the innings at the DY Patil Stadium, Navi Mumbai on Monday. The Delhi Capitals were reduced to 122/5 in 16 overs. 

Livingstone struck thrice in his four-overs quota, giving away 27 runs. The Englishman dismissed David Warner, Rishabh Pant and Rovman Powell. 

Also read: What next for Yuzvendra Chahal?

However, his first ball wicket stood out. PBKS skipper Mayank Agarwal, after electing to bowl first, handed Livingstone the first over on Monday. The 28-year-old started off with a gentle tossed up delivery outside off. Warner took a stride wanting to drive the ball but ended up slicing it to Rahul Chahar at backward point. 


With the wicket, Livingstone became the fourth spinner to take a wicket on the first ball in IPL history. 

Also read: IPL 2022: Can Mumbai Indians spoil Sunrisers Hyderabad’s playoffs party?

Spinners taking a wicket first ball of an IPL match:

Kevin Pietersen Durban 2009

Marlon Samuels Cuttack 2012

J Suchith Mumbai WS 2022

Liam Livingstone Mumbai DYP 2022

Ashdeep Singh then struck twice, getting rid of the dangerous looking Sarfaraz Khan and Lalit Yadav. Livingstone then foxed Rishabh Pant (7 off 3) for a stumping in the 12th over and then Powell in the 14th. 

Australian all-rounder Mitchell Marsh was the lone fighter for the Delhi Capitals. The 30-year-old smashed 63 runs off 48 balls with the help of four boundaries and three maximums. 

Also read: Indian cricket moving on from Mithali, Jhulan ? Duo out of T20 Challenge


Delhi Capitals (Playing XI): David Warner, Sarfaraz Khan, Mitchell Marsh, Rishabh Pant(w/c), Lalit Yadav, Rovman Powell, Axar Patel, Shardul Thakur, Kuldeep Yadav, Anrich Nortje, Khaleel Ahmed

Punjab Kings (Playing XI): Jonny Bairstow, Shikhar Dhawan, Bhanuka Rajapaksa, Liam Livingstone, Mayank Agarwal(c), Jitesh Sharma(w), Harpreet Brar, Rishi Dhawan, Kagiso Rabada, Rahul Chahar, Arshdeep Singh