House GOP leader Kevin McCarthy failed for the second time to gain enough votes to win the speakership. No leader received enough votes to become House speaker after a historic second round of voting, something that hasn’t happened since 1923. The final tally was 212 votes for Democratic Representative Hakeem Jeffries, 203 votes for McCarthy, and 19 votes for GOP Representative Jim Jordan.

McCarthy said he is not giving up his fight for Speaker despite the fact 19 Republican members voted against him. Representative Steve Scalise nominated McCarthy for a third round of voting.

Also Read | Kevin McCarthy loses second round of voting in bid to become US House Speaker

There are speculations that if this goes on, McCarthy could step aside and nominate prominent Louisiana congressman Steve Scalise to become speaker in his stead.

The right-winger Scalise is known for being close to white supremacists and Klan types. He was severely injured in a mass shooting targeting members of Congress at a baseball practice in 2017.

Also Read | Joe Biden won’t interject in House speaker election: White House

Both McCarthy and Jordan were nominated by Republicans for the third round of voting. A nominee requires 218 votes, but the number needed could change if members withhold their votes. A speaker must be elected before the House can begin the new Congress or swear in new members.

Also Read | Who is Kennisandra Jeffries, Hakeem Jeffries’ wife?

It seems McCarthy is on the verge of losing for the third round today after five Republicans so far voted in support of Jim Jordan. However, Democrats have remained united in voting for Democratic minority leader Hakeem Jeffries. Representative Byron Donalds, a Republican of Florida, has become the first McCarthy supporter to switch his vote from McCarthy to Jordan. The vote received some claps as well.

Also Read | Kevin McCarthy laughs after losing House Speaker vote, prepares to dive into second ballot

There is no sign of the California Republican, who has long aspired to win the speaker position, gaining a majority of the votes. The second round of voting, which has not happened since 1923, ended with McCarthy nowhere near a majority.